top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMahalia Myrel

How to Create an Aesthetic Mood board

Today we're going to be creating aesthetic mood boards on Canva.com from scratch that you can print & use as room decor or save to your lock screen!



Step 1 : Gather Pictures on Pinterest

I recommend typing in keywords that fit the vibe of what you are looking to emulate. For example, I wanted my mood-board to look similar to my instagram and the aesthetic that I have been developing lately. Some example keywords are listed below.


I was then able to find images on Pinterest and download them to my computer. I mixed in quotes, filler pictures (images of random aesthetic things), and fashion street style and/or editorial fashion pictures. Below is an example of a quote with a solid background that you can mix in with other aesthetic images from Pinterest.

Step 2 : Arrange Images in Canva

There are many template options in Canva, but I would just recommend clicking the purple button "Create a Design" in the top right-hand corner. From there, you can pick the size of the design, choose elements, and scroll down to grids. Below is a grid example and what your screen should look like at this step.


Next, you just have to arrange the images you have selected from Pinterest in step 1 to what you prefer.


You can also play around with adding your own text to your mood-board, so that it can have an overarching message or theme. Canva has a lot of different features you can use for FREE, so definitely look through them and give some a try.

Step 3 : Post Your Mood-board

You don't have to post your mood-board to any social media platforms if you don't want to, but it's a good idea to have it somewhere that you will see it constantly, so it will continue to inspire you throughout all aspects of your life. I posted my mood-board as my desktop wallpaper because I can swap out new mood-boards as my aesthetic changes and my aspirations develop over time.



Above is my final mood-board! I hope this was helpful and therapeutic in a way. Graphic design can be so much fun and something to get your creative juices flowing! Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, and TikTok for more!

Lots of love,

M


217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page